Communities have fun choosing Solar Plant’s Name

In an exciting community activation campaign, hundreds of people from the local Sol Plaatje municipality communities were invited to participate in a name change campaign, which called for a unique name for one of the Northern Cape’s largest and newest solar plants.

Matla A Bokone, meaning ‘Power of the Northern Region’, in Setswana, was the winning name, submitted by 28 year old, Khotso Mathakgane, from Chris Hani Park, in Kimberley.

Khotso, who has been living in the area for most of his life, studied IT at CPUT, in Bloemfontein, after finishing school at St Boniface High School. He chooses to spend his free time with his two small children and loves a good game of chess, which is currently helping to teach to youngsters in his community.

The inspiration for his submission, was drawn from the geographical location of the solar plant and much needed power by the people of the North.

What was originally known as Droogfontein 2, is now officially named ‘Matla A Bokone Solar’, a truly local name that resonates with the community of Sol Plaatje.

“We thank the hundreds of people that took part in the Saturday community events, as they showed such excitement and were exceedingly enthusiastic about using their creativity to come up with a name for our new solar plant,” said Nomzamo Landingwe, Chief Community Operations Officer for Matla A Bokone Solar.

Landingwe added, saying “Matla A Bokone Solar, is 100% owned by South African investors, so a name chosen by the people of the Northern Cape is most fitting.”

During its 20-year operations, the solar PV plant will benefit a large number of communities, spread throughout the Sol Plaatje area, through various Economic Development programmes, aimed at building economic and social resistance, as well as increasing access to the local economy.

“Involving the community in choosing a name for the solar plant, is a first step in the 20-year operations strategy to ensure participatory inclusion of local communities in the design and implementation of Socio-Economic and Enterprise Development initiatives,” concluded Landingwe.

The beneficiary communities include Barkly West, Riverton, Kimberley, Kimberley Central, Greenpoint, Galeshewe, Roodepan, Platfontein, Holpan, Delportshoop, Windsorton, Ritchie, and Boshof.

Contact us

National Enquiries

021 670 1400

2nd Floor, Fernwood House, The Oval, 1 Oakdale Road,
Newlands, Cape Town, 7700
Claremont, 7735

Contact Us